Daily Archives: November 4, 2007

My Best Meal in Savannah so far…

I like all types of food, but I must say I am partial to seafood – in fact, I can not remember the last time I have ordered a steak at a restaurant – I have tasted, just not ordered. 

The other night I was in the mood for a good piece of fish – not a flimsly, thin slice of fish, a nice thick chunk that is substantial that melts in your mouth.  As we all know, this is easier dreamt of than found. 

Well, I got lucky!

I was at The New South Cafe the other night and ordered the Blackened Redfish from the menu.  This dish, for some reason, I have never had.  The Blackened Redfish is presented over a nice bed of Coconut-Leek Risotto with a Blood Orange GastriqueOH MY GOD!!  How on earth did this dish never make it to my pallet I have no idea.  This was the best dish I have ever eaten in Savannah.  The fish was perfectly seasoned – not too spicy, just right.  The coconut-leek risotto was to die for – the flavors blended so perfectly with every bite.  And if it could not get any better than that – the Blood Orange Gastrique was the perfect accompanyment that accented all of the flavors and married the entire dish to be a wonderfully created dinner that was so satisfying I did not want it to end!!!  The flavor that was left in my mouth was beautiful – spicy, sweet, sour, tart – all combined to make this a sensory explosion experience!

Now, I don’t usually write about individual dishes that I eat, but in this case – it is well deserved!

My hat goes of to the wonderful chefs at The New South Cafe for once again, creating an experience that all others will have to live up to in my book.

I won’t even say IF you go….this is a MUST GO…

The New South Cafe, 2601 Skidaway Road, Savannah, GA 31404

912-233-7558

www.thenewsouthcafe.com