Belford’s – Savannah Seafood & Steak

Crab Cakes

 

The location of Belford’s Savannah Seafood & Steaks is one of its main draw, but it doesn’t hurt to have excellent food, a great staff, outside dining patio and a wonderful atmosphere – oh yeah, did I say excellent food… 

 

Savannah’s City Market area is, in my opinion, the heartland of Savannah’s best dining.  With upscale neighbors such as Garibaldi’s and Savannah Bistro, eclectic fun neighbors such as Vinnie Van Go Go’s and Tapas and the casual comfort of City Market Café and the all-so-popular chain of Wild Wing’s – there is something for everyone in City Market!   

 

Belford’s has remained consistent for quite sometime now offering local dishes such as Shrimp, Greens & Grits with apple smoked bacon, green onions and a Chardonnay butter sauce served over buttery grit cakes and wilted collard greens and Grouper Provencal – a fresh filet of black grouper layered with sliced tomatoes, tapenade & topped with seasoned bread crumbs drizzled with olive oil, baked and served with steamed asparagus. 

But for me, and many, many others, their specialty remains to be their Crab Cake.   

Like I said in another review, a crab cake in Savannah is sometimes a measure of a restaurant.  For me….Belford’s has the best crab cake in town.  Others are good, some are fantastic – but they are not a “Belford’s” crab cake.   

Belford’s Crab Cake is a premium JUMBO lump crab cake with a lemon aioli and spicy tomato jam – sounds simple enough, right.  Well, it’s not.  The key here is “Premium Jumbo Lump Crab” – big chunks of juicy fresh crab meat, not broken down and very, very little filler.  Most restaurants do not use Jumbo lump crab due to the market price.  It can be a risky inventory if you are not selling them for the high price you must offer to get your money back, but at Belford’s – this is not a problem.  And trust me, it is worth the price you pay! 

So, if you go, and I would recommend that you try the Crab Cake, and afterwards this will be your measure of a crab cake for all other restaurants to achieve.  They are also open for breakfast and brunch – one of the few restaurants downtown that offers this!  Enjoy!  Belford’s Savannah Seafood & Steaks


315 West Saint Julian Street


Savannah, Georgia 31401912-233-2626

 

5 responses to “Belford’s – Savannah Seafood & Steak

  1. Bad service, mediocre but expensive food. Bunch of teenagers had the run of the place, you could hear them sing rap songs and see them goofing off and grab-assing all over the place. A tourist dump. Save your money.

  2. Wow – are you sure you were at Belford’s??? That is suprising to me, but I suppose these things happen sometime. Generally, that is not the atmosphere here and the service is pretty good – at least that has been when I have gone. Everyone has bad experiences at some time – that is why we are all are fortunate to be able to voice are opinions, right!

  3. Savannah born and raised

    To be proper I’ll just say ditto to John. I’ve never had a good meal there. The wait staff is ok but there is no denying that it is a tourist trap. They serve over-priced frozen seafood (and not local shrimp, but I do hear that they may be changing that soon). They have even served Stoffer’s frozen veggies before. If I’m paying that much for a meal, I expect an actual chef to be preparing it, not cooks. Chef= culinary school. Just my opinion though.

  4. i do agree with the chef/cook part of that comment – I am with you on this. As far as the prices and tourist trap – yeah, that is what they are and I don’t think they are denying that. For a tourist trap they are better than the places on river street I think.

  5. I don’t understand the negative comments. My husband and I were there last spring and had lunch at Belford’s…had the crabcakes…and it was great. They make, by far, the most delicious crabcakes I have ever eaten. The luncheon portion may be smaller than dinner, but they were delicious nevertheless.

Leave a Reply

